An Almost Anonymous Blog

Review: CREMO Original Formula Concentraded Shave Cream Classic

I have tons of trouble shaving my face; I get bumps, cuts, irritation galore. Safety razors are rising in popularity over those 10-bladed monstrosities1, and there are various communities devoted to them. I consulted a few YouTube videos for reviews before I purchased my own: a King C. Gilette.

I'll step back a sec - in case you didn't click through any links I'll just summarize the basic reason for using a safety blade. In short, the extra blades on the disposable razors cause more irritation on the skin because you're passing multiple blades over your skin. Sure, they tell you it makes for a smooth shave, but that's not exactly the case. Safety razors on the other hand are sharper and more reliable. They're also cheaper to replace the blade.

Anyway, I have noticed a huge difference in how my skin reacts to the blades. But I still suffer from knicks and cuts and irritation. You're supposed to use proper shaving soap and brushes with these things but I can't be bothered, to be honest. I go with the cheapest option, which is a store brand aerosol2 can. On a whim though, while looking for face wash at Walmart, I happened across this new product on sale.

A tube of CREMO brand shaving cream

Enter CREMO Original Formula Concentraded Shave Cream Classic. The claim all over the tube is that it is an "impossibly slick formula" that "fights nicks, irritation, and razor burn". Like I said, it was on sale, so I figured I would give it a shot. I've been avoiding shaving for a while because I don't want to deal with the irritation3.

Let me tell you, it was a great experience. It certainly helps that I popped in a brand new razor blade, but either I'm falling for marketing and the placebo effect or it was just that much better than store brand cheap-o stuff.

Let's start with the smell: it's very pleasant. It's nothing special, but this is a helpful thing to get right since it's going to be all over your face and you don't want to have something disgusting and gross near your nose. Secondly, you don't need to use very much of it to lather your face. The tube suggests an "almond size" dollop to lather. That's not a lot! Apparently it's good for 90 days; considering I don't shave every day, it'll last a lot longer for me.

The shave itself was great as well. Very smooth, as advertised. And, afterward, no nicks! Nothing was bleeding. Even right now, 4 hours later, my face still feels very smooth. Yes, I am feeling my skin to bask in the amazement of how smooth a shave I got. It feels good, and I think it was also moisturizing at the same time.

I heartily recommend this shaving cream if you are like me and experience nicks/irritation/razor burn with sensitive skin. I am tempted to try shaving my entire face but my wife enjoys my beard and won't let me do it, so that'll have to be for another time.

Reply by email

Or if you prefer, find me on Mastodon.


  1. I kid, I think the most blades they sell now is 6.↩

  2. I think it's aerosol? It's the stuff you press a button and foam comes out.↩

  3. I'll take this opportunity to note that I don't shave ALL my face. I keep a trimmed beard, and shave the parts that don't really grow in.↩

#review