An Almost Anonymous Blog

Re: Thinking Out Loud About My Photos Overload

Jedda's post, "Thinking Out Loud About My Photos Overload", prompted me to think about what I do with my photos. Specifically, how I save them. And a little bit about sharing them, too, I guess.

Specifically the first bit about how she uploads all her photos to an external drive; I realized that I've been saving my photos to my Surface laptop (which doesn't have a ton of storage) and OneDrive as well. I should really be backing mine up to an external drive, too! Luckily I have a spare SSD, but it has below 500GB of storage and is not actually an external drive. But it works for now, so I'll upgrade later when I find a good deal on an external drive.

So now my workflow is to save my photos to both OneDrive and my external SSD in a similar folder hierarchy as Jedda's:

Year > Photos > Camera > Month > Folder Name with date

I haven't sorted by camera, though that's not such a bad idea. Project for later. Right now I've just sorted by year > Folder Name with date. Woops, I should probably break down by month...project for later.

But I also got to thinking about sharing my photos. My previous workflow was to just share via Instagram which went to Facebook automatically as well (and Threads now, too). I don't post so much on those platforms anymore but I would still love to share photos that I'm playing with. Cue Flickr.

I thought about starting a new blog somewhere just for photos but I think for now I'll stick to this blog. I can tag photo-only posts with #photography, and then people can just find my photo posts that way. Or subscribe to that as an RSS feed (Bear is great that way!). I don't have a great way of sharing photos here because I don't pay for Bear at the moment, so instead I'm going to use Flickr.

So here's some pictures of a couple of tire racks I put together today! I was playing around with Pro mode on my phone to get that "film" look. I might have over-done it with the grain but at this point I'm just playing with ISO / shutter speed settings from my phone and doing edits after.

Tire Racks Album Two unopened tire rack boxes leaning up against a wall. There is a rubber mallet to the left of them.

Reply by email

Or if you prefer, find me on Mastodon.

#JulyReply #photography