An Almost Anonymous Blog

Trying "Vanilla Freddo Cappuccino"

I have a post I want to write about this past weekend but I need some more time to work on it, so instead enjoy this post about coffee!

A grocery store that shall remain unnamed1 has a seasonal "Insider's Report" which is little more than a flyer advertising house brand products they are introducing or trying to sell. Sometimes they have recipes - in a previous year they had a great one for braised beef that I enjoyed. The most recent flyer before this one had no recipes, which was disappointing.

This time, though, the flyer included a recipe for what they called "Vanilla Freddo Cappuccino"2.

And the instructions:

  1. Combine milk with syrup in small glass jar with tight-fitting lid (such as 1-cup/250 mL Mason jar). Cover and shake vigorously until thick and frothy (or use an electric hand-held milk frother). Set aside.
  2. Fill serving glass one-third of the way with ice. Add cold coffee and top with foamed milk. Sprinkle with sugar (if using).

Quick notes: I'm using skim milk, but did not buy their store label vanilla bean syrup - I used honey. For coffee, I just brewed a Keurig pod of regular medium roast coffee.

This is very easy to throw together in the morning for a fancier coffee than normal, but it's not suited for travel mugs. I think next time I'm going to reserve this for drinking at home, rather than on the go. I will probably try adding some vanilla to the milk + honey mixture.

Overall it's not bad, and the fact that it's simple to make is a plus.

⭐⭐⭐

Reply by email

Or if you prefer, find me on Mastodon.


  1. It might rhyme with Bob's Law Blog and might also be the subject of a current country-wide boycott

  2. I don't think any of these ingredients make it a cappuccino, but that's not for me to decide.

#coffee