An Almost Anonymous Blog

Timeline of a Project

Just now, via the Discover page (new posts), I found this one about a user designing a dungeon for a TTRPG. I'm not particularly interested in TTRPGs beyond the concept of them, but the bones of the post interest me.

Specifically the outline of his (her?) project, structuring it into a "9 week year".1 I am working on a project myself, to create an essay anthology about my experience with epilepsy.2 My goal - a bit lofty - is to publish it as a book. It would be nice to send it to a capital-P Publisher, but self-publishing is easy enough as an eBook and print-on-demand services. Either way - I'd like to see this as a physical, soft-cover book.3

Unfortunately I am also very disorganized. I have waffled between writing new essays, reviewing older essays, and brainstorming different topics. I don't have a structured plan for working on this thing, so the timeline for finishing it is "whenever". Or, ¯
(ツ)/¯

So, I very clearly need to come up with a reasonable timeline to get something done. The idealist in me would aim for a general "end of 2023" but I should probably start by determining how long each step of the way will take, and work from there. I suspect that will take me into early 2024, which is fine. I don't want to rush anything.

It's an important project for me, and I want to get it right. This isn't some sort of blog post (although, ironically, some of the essays will be taken from blog posts), it's a story of my life in the last 4 years. I really should get that right.

Before I work on the next essay, then, I will come up with a timeline. That's goal number 1.

Edit: Newfound Internet friend (or at least, acquaintance?) Mike Grindle shared this page on his latest post! Thanks so much for that, Mike! I thought I should point people to the latest update on the project, where I actually developed a timeline.

  1. I tried searching to see if this was a "thing", but just got results about pregnancy and converting weeks into days or whatever. Not very helpful.

  2. I went to link to the epilepsy tag for this blog, but, strangely before today, I have not used that tag!

  3. I do not like hardcover books.

#epilepsy #projects