An Almost Anonymous Blog

This is (almost) 40

Next week, I turn 40. My wife asked me over the weekend how I feel about that - and at the time I didn't have a good answer. I don't remember exactly what I told her but it was somewhat wishy-washy and probably something to do with "I don't feel old" - which is true. While the number itself is a significant milestone, I don't feel like it represents anything truly ominous about the rest of my life.

But now that I am 7 days out, I thought it might be worth blogging through it. I re-read Brandon's blog about turning 40 late last year and thought a similar type of post might be a good idea - especially since he and I seem to click on a few ideas. This one is more reflective of the last 10 years than it is looking forward, but I might do a little of that too.

On turning 30

Ten years ago was the first "major" milestone of my life - turning 30. My wife planned a huge bash for me (it wasn't a surprise party, I was involved in it): we rented some ice at our local sportsplex and had a curling party. Most of us there had curled before, but some hadn't. It was a lot of fun. Later we went to a local brewpub owned by a hockey player (Big Rig) and I actually got to MEET Chris Phillips1. Turns out he was celebrating his birthday as well, as his is a few days later (March 9th, according to Wikipedia).

One thing that stands out about my 30th birthday is how much alcohol was involved. That was definitely a large part of my life - beer, craft brews, etc. Looking at my life now - it's so completely different.

I've been alcohol-free for 5 years. I've written about it plenty and I'm going to release a book of essays that will talk about it again so I'm going to leave that alone for now. But it just strikes me as amazing that alcohol was such a big part of the celebration of turning 30, but now it's just...not a big deal at all.

On turning 35

A weird birthday - another milestone I suppose, if you're counting 5 year intervals. Truthfully I don't remember what we did for this birthday. It was 2019, and the early stages of COVID lockdowns; so it's 100% likely we didn't go out anywhere. But at this point in my life alcohol was still a thing, until it wasn't.

November 2019 was when I had my first seizure, and would eventually be diagnosed with epilepsy. Again - I've talked about it plenty, so I'm going to leave it there. But as far as milestone ages go, 35 was a pretty significant one, in retrospect.

Future goals

What am I looking forward to now that half my life is over? (I kid.)

Well. Next week in particular I'm tagging along with my wife on a work trip out west. That's going to be fun. I took the entire week off, so no working from the hotel room for me. We're going to rent a car, because it doesn't seem like there's a lot we can do in walking distance. Not like a couple of weeks ago when we walked almost everywhere.

I'll be honest...I can't think of any future / long term goals right now. I have things I want to focus on this year: completing my essay collection, setting up my personal website (oh hey, that's done!), expand my photography skills, that kind of thing. But beyond that? I don't know. I'm a kind of "one year at a time" kind of person.


That's all I got right now. Maybe next week (Tuesday) I'll have more to say about turning 40.

Reply by email

Or if you prefer, find me on Mastodon!

If you haven't already, be sure to subscribe to the RSS feed


  1. I have a photo of the two of us together, and I thought about sharing it - but when I looked it up on Facebook it's such a terrible picture. Underexposed, blurry. I can't bring myself to share it, sorry.

#reflection