An Almost Anonymous Blog

Testing The Cheap Lens

I think it's safe to say that the results I get from this lens are not going to be great without ideal natural settings. That's OK - I knew what I was getting into when I bought it.

Here are some samples; I made some slight edits to the first one to crop it so that there's not so much sky in the photo (I did a horrible job framing it). The picture of the coloured leaves definitely turned out better than the other 2.

A collection of red and orange leaves in the middle of green foliage.
A collection of red and orange leaves in the middle of green foliage. Click through for the full version.

Here are two photos - the original, plus an edited version where I tried to clean it up a bit to bring the lamp post into better focus. I think to fix it I'd need to work with the RAW file in Lightroom (or, basically any tools more robust than what Flickr provides).

Classic Lamp Post Classic Lamp Post

Left: The original photo of a classic-looking lamp post.

Right: An edited version of the same photo.

Reply by email

Or if you prefer, find me on Mastodon.

#photography