An Almost Anonymous Blog

Photography

I have another goal to talk about: photography. I've always been fascinated with cameras and taking photos, as well as digitally manipulating images (I don't have it anymore, but I had fun once creating clones of myself). Late last year my wife suggested I dive deep into the hobby, and I am 100% behind that idea.

Two books about photography

Some books I bought recently: "The Photography Bible" and "The Beginner's Guide to Photography" (the book underneath)

I have a few ideas on how to do that, and number one is via books (see above). I was originally going to consult the library, because libraries are a fantastic resource; but I had gift cards to burn and the books pictured above seemed like good starting points. I think if I want more to read on the subject, I will probably go back to the library.

The other thing I'd like to do is use the library...but see if there are any free courses, or clubs, or something. Some actual hands-on practice that is coming from another person, and not a book. If that isn't available, that's OK; maybe there are other things available in the city and I just need to look around for them.

What I want to avoid is relying on YouTube or other online resources unless I'm in a pinch. Yeah, the Internet can be a great source of knowledge, but sometimes there's too much noise.

Nothing beats practicing. To that end, I'll use two primary cameras:

Most of the time I'll have my phone with me and not the mirrorless camera, so that means I'll probably have to get creative to get some good shots from a mobile camera. You can only do so much, but as the adage goes...your best camera is the one you have on you.


Reply via email

Or if you prefer, find me on Mastodon!

#goals #photography