An Almost Anonymous Blog

The Office Drains My Energy

Something weird I realized last night as I was writing in my journal: I feel really drained this week, and it's because I'm going to be spending 4 days in a row in the office. Normally I do 3 days, and work from home for 2.

What's weird is that I used to be in the office 5 days a week! So why is doing an extra day so "draining"? What I wrote down was that I guess we get used to doing something for so long, whenever there's a change to it - even if it's something that we used to do for just as long - new stresses emerge and that stress tires you out, just a little bit.

This was also on my mind because of the recent announcement that Federal government employees would be mandated to work in the office 3 days a week and how much fallout that's causing. I already went through this with my company; we adjusted. But I totally understand - once you give people certain freedoms it's difficult to claw them back.

Reply by email

Or if you prefer, find me on Mastodon.

#reflection