An Almost Anonymous Blog

Not Pomodoro

You may have heard about the "Pomodoro" technique, but if you haven't, here's the gist:

The Pomodoro Technique is a time management method developed by Francesco Cirillo in the late 1980s.[1] It uses a kitchen timer to break work into intervals, typically 25 minutes in length, separated by short breaks. Each interval is known as a pomodoro, from the Italian word for tomato, after the tomato-shaped kitchen timer Cirillo used as a university student. --From the Wikipedia entry for "Pomodoro Technique"

My wife found this nifty digital timer that works by twisting the dial clockwise or counter-clockwise to set the length of time you want for your timer, primarily so that she could set a limit on whatever it is she's working on. She tends to get lost in projects and time can get away from her.

I, however, am the opposite. I get lost in everything else and pretty much avoid work1. I thought this timer was really cool-looking, and even though I have a perfectly functional timer on my smart watch, I bought one for myself.

A digital timer displaying 20:00

My nifty digital timer

I'm not using this as the "traditional pomodoro technique" - what I'm doing is simply setting a time limit (I like 20 minute chunks), and in that time I can only work on something on my to-do list, or a new task that's come in. It's a bright LED reminder to NOT open my web browser and find stuff to read. Or even blog about stuff like I'm doing right now.2

It seems to be working for me, I used it twice already this morning. And when I'm done writing this post, I'll set up another timer so I can GTD.

Reply by email

Or if you prefer, find me on Mastodon!


  1. I do this because I can get my work done really fast. If I there is pressing work that needs to be done, I will always prioritize that over goofing off.↩

  2. To be fair, I AM taking a break and will be getting back to it when I'm done writing.↩

#productivity