An Almost Anonymous Blog

Letterboxd

Veronique wrote about her new-found love for Letterboxd yesterday and I thought I'd chime in. I've been a member for a while - you can view my profile here. I don't have a lot of connections because I don't use it too often, but happy to welcome some new friends! I like reading reviews, even if it's just stars without a write-up1.

In vero's post, she mentioned she's still working out a rating system and has this so far:

1/2 Failure, offensive, toxic

1 Failure, gouge my eyes out, hate it

1 1/2 Bad, cheese, regrettable, waste of time

2 Disappointing, mediocre, uninteresting, something to put on for background noise?

2 1/2 Mediocre, run-of-the-mill, mixed feelings, flawed but worthy

3 Good, Above average, interesting concept or execution, eye-opening

3 1/2 Very good, interesting concept and execution, evoking

4 Great, exciting, memorable achievement, enlightening

4 1/2 Enriching and transformative, work of art, exceptional, almost perfect

5 Flawless, masterpiece, favorite, divine encounter

Personally I subscribe to the Goodreads scale:

1 star="did not like it" 2 star="it was ok" 3 star="liked it" 4 star="really liked it" 5 star="it was amazing"

Basically how I treat this in terms of film is if it's a 5, I'd re-watch it (with books it means I'd re-read it). Vero proceeded to ask about half stars, to which I didn't have an answer right away. But eventually I came up with a methodology:

Bordering on the next level but something holds it back. Sort of like - sometimes I want to award 4 stars, but something holds it back an entire star (the third act of Ghostbusters Afterlife, for example).

I had to come up with something, because I realized I used half stars in a few reviews. Whoops!

Anyway I intend on being more dutiful in logging my movies. I love the concept of Letterboxd and to my knowledge it's not a problematic website (yet).


As a side note, I keep meaning to put together a blogroll page, because I follow a ton of people here (and from other places) and don't raise anybody up very often unless I happen to mention it in a post (like this one). So, that's something I'd like to put together by the end of March along with a few other goals. I'll draw attention to it when I get around to it.

Reply by email

Or if you prefer, find me on Mastodon!

If you haven't already, be sure to subscribe to the RSS feed


  1. I'm guilty of this often, both on Storygraph and Letterboxd.

#movies