An Almost Anonymous Blog

Junited 2024

Post last modified 1 hour ago

A quick note: Junited was suggested by Robert Birming as a follow-up to #WeBlogPoMo (which itself was suggested by Annie). The basics: I'm posting one link a day to a blog post or someone's blog that resonates with me in some way.

This page will be updated every day and not re-posted so it will only show up in your RSS feeds once! I will be letting people know on Mastodon when I've updated it.

  1. 🚶 The Benefits of Daily Walking | Darren’s Notes - I love walking and I wholeheartedly agree with Darren and will always advocate for walking for a whole host of reasons.
  2. 🎵 Sliding Away | Flamed Fury - great review of some Miley Cyrus tracks
  3. ongoing by Tim Bray · Parable of the Sofa - Reminds me of the "bootstrap" theory of economics from that one Terry Pratchett book.
  4. You’re a Blogger, Not an Essayist - I am BARRY HESS - My only comment: YES
  5. I'm a Little Fed Up | Brandon's Journal - Totally get the frustrations. I'm not at the point Brandon is, but "subscription culture" sucks and so does a lot of the Internet.
  6. The Brown Knowser: Circling the Rabbit Hole - Reminds me of what I was reading in Stolen Focus about YouTube's insidious algorithm.
  7. in my lame duck era (& when does the frog jump out of the pot?) | yours, tiramisu - Sharing both for tiramisu's openness but also his thoughts about Spotify raising prices. Goes nicely with Brandon's post about being fed up (look a couple of numbers up in this list).
  8. McLuhan Lite theme for bear blog | mgx - Love what mgx does for Bearblog - whether it's custom themes or little hacks. Great stuff always.
  9. Notes 08 | vmb - Vero always finds one or two links that pique my curiosity and I save them for future visits. Going to have to re-read this one to remember what it was I wanted to read again :)
  10. 📝21 neat things I want to do on my personal blog | Word Play - I thought that a lot of these items on the list are good ideas for writing in general and will probably pull from them.
  11. 🔎 Discoverability and Visibility in the small web | Meadow - Good write-up about the "small web" but also a neat RSS reader at the bottom of the post called Mire
  12. 🖥️ The nbsp; was breaking after all | Lynn Fisher - I love reading people's processes in things. Sometimes I take things away for myself, but not always. Just reading about it can be fun and opens your eyes to different possibilities.
  13. Robin Rendle — A prototype of the future - Interesting quote, I liked this one.
  14. I feel hacked — Noisy Deadlines - Brandon shared this already but I completely relate with this post as well. Can't echo the sentiments enough.
  15. On giving up too soon - Cole's Blog - I've given up on many projects too soon as well! Good advice in this post coming from a quote from Rick Rubin.
  16. Alexandra's Notebook - I'll be honest I'm not sure how I stumbled upon Alexandra's blog, but it's been a great read the last little while. Also, lives in Québec City - a great place I visited twice.
  17. Don't give up! You Wonderful Internet Strangers. : Epilepsy - Not a blog nor is reddit a good representation of indie web, but it's posts like these that keep me coming back to the site. The smaller, actual community-based subreddits. I didn't particularly need this post for myself that day, but somebody did.
  18. Resisting Audience Capture: How to Maintain Integrity & Sanity Online - Touches on some of my notes about content creation on 6/12.
  19. Keep the creative fire burning | Robert Birming - Just plain good advice.
  20. The temptation of negativity | Robert Birming - 100% important to keep negativity in check.
  21. Tiny Things That I Like | Martin's Notebook - Relatable list. Tiny screws are evil.
  22. The Real Thing: Digital Imposters and Twisted Personas in 'Perfect Blue' | Mike Grindle "As an example, the study noted that introverts tend to act more extroverted in online spaces (as someone shy in real life, I can attest to this). Similarly, the research shows that extroverts tend to act more reserved and introverted. The same appears to apply to other characteristics. For instance, the comical and fun-loving aim to be more sophisticated and vice-versa." - yep!
  23. You Are Not the Things You Like | Mike Grindle - liked this one
  24. Hidden Battles: The Importance of Choosing Kindness | Notes by JCProbably - relates back to June 20th's entry about the temptation of negativity.
  25. The 11ty Bundle - Just a useful collection of 11ty tips, tricks, and tools.
  26. How not to quit Google | The Art Of Not Asking Why - Yes. I understand the desire for privacy and why people want to do things like Quit Google, but these things (similarly to people who are able to live "minimalist lives") are done from places of privilege. Also, I see a lot of people say "I choose Apple because they don't sell your data" - sorry but they do...they have their own advertising game which is why they're so invested in helping you opt out of other people's advertising nets.
  27. Meta holding me hostage – The Wallflower Digest - I understand the feeling. I don't feel so "tied up" with Meta, probably because I don't use it very often.
  28. Moving to Bear Blog | goofpunk.com - Finding some new things I didn't know I could do with Bear!
Reply by email

Or if you prefer, find me on Mastodon.

#junited