An Almost Anonymous Blog

Oof. Goodreads.

While wasting time at work I browsed Bearblog's Discover page and found this post: Now page and quitting Goodreads | Habitual Mood

For the last year or so I've been waffling between whether I want to use Goodreads, or The Storygraph. I recently decided to just stick with Goodreads - that's where most of my friends are, it's easy enough to use. The main reason I had for quitting Goodreads was based on Amazon owning the website. Not a strong conviction for quitting.

But that post I mentioned had a link to this Substack article: Let's talk about Goodreads. - by Nicole Brinkley

It's a long article, but the part that stood out to me was the outlining of how toxic the website can be. Review bombing (both negative and positive) was one of the biggest focuses. Anyway, the article itself was enough to convince me to stop using the website and switch 100% to The Storygraph.

So that means I'm going to have to switch up my links in my Now page to stop directing people to Goodreads. I think I'm also going to try linking to independent book stores for purchase links instead of just the Storygraph book page.

Reply by email

Or if you prefer, find me on Mastodon!

If you haven't already, be sure to subscribe to the RSS feed

#books #reading