An Almost Anonymous Blog

Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind

Updated March 20, 2024

Movie poster for Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind

Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind, 2004, Michel Gondry.

You can erase someone from your mind. Getting them out of your heart is another story.

I re-watched Eternal Sunshine last night, something that has been on my mental to-do list for quite some time. Originally I wanted to watch it as part of a Jim Carrey trilogy (to date I have now watched this, and The Truman Show - I'm short one film). But I never got around to it, until now; which seems to be the perfect time because it's the 20th anniversary of the film.

I wrote a new review of it in Letterboxd; here's the text:


I can't fathom why I didn't rate this a 5 when I first entered this into Letterboxd.

The prologue for this movie is so great; I wonder what someone would think if they somehow went into this movie without knowing anything about the plot or premise. Could Lacuna erase my knowledge of the film and any trailers etc so I could watch it with fresh eyes?

I love the way the film plays with memory as well. I like that we don't see complete sequences - we see key moments in Joel's memory, but not everything - and isn't that how we remember things? Most of the time we get key details that come back to us, but we don't remember things as if they were a movie or narrated in a book.

This movie simultaneously makes me happy and sad.


I originally rated it 4.5 stars; I upped it to 5 last night. I can't find any faults with the film. To be fair, it's a bit of a cheat in that way because it deals so heavily with memory and interpretation of memory, so that makes it easier for a free pass.

Some fun things I looked up or noticed during and after watching the film.

"How happy is the blameless vestal's lot!

The world forgetting, by the world forgot:

Eternal sunshine of the spotless mind!

Each prayer accepted, and each wish resigned;"

(Pope Alexander Alexander Pope)

Reply by email

Or if you prefer, find me on Mastodon!

If you haven't already, be sure to subscribe to the RSS feed


  1. It was pointed out to me that I confused Tobey Maguire for Elijah Wood. Woops! But for posterity and integrity, I'm letting this mistake live on.

#movies