An Almost Anonymous Blog

Changing Tracks

As some regular readers may or may not be aware, since last year I've been working on putting together a series of essays about epilepsy, with the intention of releasing them as a book. This project itself came from inspiration launched by reading Unreconciled Family, Truth, and Indigenous Resistance; I thought to myself that I could collect essays like this myself1 and set to work on setting goals etc.

This year I set two deadlines, and the first was March 31st: finishing the revision and rewrite process. The goal here was to have essays finished and ready to put in some kind of order to create a manuscript. I forget the second deadline I set, but the second goal was to have a first draft manuscript put together2.

But late in February I lost steam on the project, completely. I was no longer thinking about it, and did not feel like I could complete it. The fact that I was traveling frequently in February and March, and did not bring all the materials I needed to work on the project, worked in concert with this defeated feeling to halt all work entirely.

But then I did some introspection to get myself out of a creative funk. I recorded and released a new podcast episode after writing that post, and did some re-thinking of my essay project. I haven't done extensive work on it yet3, but I have an idea of sorts.

The short version is I now want to write one big essay. It'll be something new, and a synthesis of everything I've written to date. I want to make sure to include some of the research I've done as well. The idea I have in my head is that I'd put it together as a multiple page zine - digital first, but should the opportunity arise I could probably put it in print and distribute a physical copy. Who knows.

So that's where I'm going with it. I would like to work on it a little bit at a time. I hope to get something done by the end of the year, but I'm not imposing any deadlines this time.

Reply by email

Or if you prefer, find me on Mastodon.


  1. Not exactly like this. I am not speaking about social justice and inequities.

  2. The first draft being simply putting the essays in order, as one single document. Formatting can come later.

  3. I have written the first draft of one sentence. It's in a text file, but right now can't seem to find it in my online files. I think I wrote it, anyway.

#epilepsy #essays #writing