An Almost Anonymous Blog

A Post About Health

I last wrote about how I intend to use my smart watch going forward; that was I supposed technically about technology, but really it was a post about my health. And, since the software I need to use at work is down and I have nothing to do, I might as well post some more about my health. I was going to make a thread on Mastodon but realized it would be a better use of my time (and everyone else's) to throw this in a blog post.

On top of changing what I'm tracking more meaningfully (that would be sleep, steps, and exercise) I modified my calorie tracking to stop including burned exercise calories in my daily goal; that means that the food I enter into my diary has to fit within a fixed number. This is better for two reasons:

  1. Eating back your calories is not a good idea. I think I mentioned it in my last post but smart watches and estimations are notorious for being inaccurate compared to what the body actually burns.
  2. I found it difficult to properly gauge my progress because Cronometer would change my calorie goal based on how many calories I was consuming; now with a static goal, it's easier to see what I'm doing.

With that said, yesterday I went over my calorie goal by approximately 1400. Part of that was because we had a free pizza lunch at work and I had three slices, and then I ate some more when I got home, partly out of stress (see work situation mentioned above). But you know what? That's okay.

If you look at a single day in a vacuum, it looks bad. But with weight loss, you need to look at the bigger picture. Maybe I overate by quite a bit yesterday, but that represents 14% of the week. I can reduce my calories for the rest of the week by approximately 280 calories a day and I'll be fine in the bigger picture.

It'll take a little bit of planning and a pinch of willpower, but I can do it. And I will continue to exercise and keep track of that progress as well. For example last night my softball game was cancelled, so instead I went to the gym and had a half-hour workout. It could have been longer but I have bad knees and needed to ice them. It's a long softball season so I'd like to have working knees1.

Well, that's all I got for now. Maybe the rest of this week I'll have some other topics to talk about. I don't like boring people with personal numbers and stats that don't have a lot of meaning to other people.

Reply by email

Or if you prefer, find me on Mastodon.


  1. Because of the personal training I've been doing, my muscles are holding up wonderfully. It's those pesky joints...the joints!↩

#health